Home » DWI Defense

Aggressive DWI Defense Representation

Make no mistake about it: DWI is a serious offense in Louisiana with many potential long-term repercussions. Depending on the facts of the case, the negative consequences of a conviction could include heavy fines, court costs, long-term loss of your driver’s license or car insurance, vehicle impoundment or forfeiture, and mandatory jail time. Additionally, because a DWI conviction can leave you with a permanent criminal record, it can hurt your future chances of employment.

It is important that you know your rights, defenses and possible consequences of the DWI charge against you. It is also important to remember that no one accused of DWI is automatically guilty. You have a right to challenge the prosecution and defend against the charge.

To arrange a consultation with a skilled DWI defense attorney in New Orleans, call 504-410-7988 or complete our contact form. We provide aggressive defense representation for clients throughout southern Louisiana.

Know Your Rights | Let Us Fight To Protect Them

At Vincent P. Scallan Law, LLC, the first case our office ever handled was the successful defense against a DWI charge. When you become our client, you will have an experienced lawyer on your side — someone who knows the complicated procedural, evidentiary, constitutional, sentencing and administrative license issues surrounding drunk driving charges.

If you are accused of DWI, you should be aware of the following:

1) If you are suspected of drunk driving in Louisiana, when you are asked to take a field sobriety test (FST), you have no right to speak to an attorney. You will not have that right until after you have submitted to blood or breath testing at the station, or have refused to do so.

2) You are not legally required to take any field sobriety tests. However, if you refuse to submit to a breath or blood test, there are consequences. Your first refusal will result in the loss of your license for 365 days with eligibility for hardship license after first 90 days. Your second refusal could result in loss of your license for up to two years without eligibility for hardship license.

3) It is important to act within 15 days of your DWI arrest in order to challenge the suspension of your license. Unfortunately, many people mistakenly think that they can wait until the last minute — even as late as the eve of trial — to hire an attorney. With that in mind, in order to ensure the best result possible, it is imperative that you call our office as soon as you possibly can.

Contact Vincent P. Scallan Law, LLC

To learn more about your rights and defense options, call us in New Orleans at 504-410-7988 or send us an email. We advise and represent clients throughout southern Louisiana.

Super Lawyer
50 Orleans
Text Avvo
Million Dollar Advocates Forum
Million Dollar Advocates Forum
NAOPIA National Trail Lawyers
LA Association For Justice
Louisiana State Bar Association
10.0Vincent Piazza Scallan